Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
53

The Morning: My *very* mixed feelings on the Biden speech

The good. And the bad.
53

President Joe Biden began his long farewell to public life on Tuesday night with a speech from the Oval Office in which he outlined both his vision of the choice in the coming election and how he wants to be remembered on the American political stage.

I will admit I had very mixed feelings about the address.

Simply reading the text of the speech, Biden came across as someone truly committed to capital “D” Democracy. Someone who recognizes that the fate of the nation is bigger than any one person — including himself.

But, watching the speech, I was left with a very different impression. I was reminded of how close Democrats came to having Biden as their nominee against Donald Trump. And how disastrous that would have been for him and his party.

I talked about all of that in today’s edition of The Morning. This is always a free post. But I would love if you would become an investor in what I am building here. Become a paid subscriber today! It’s $6 a month or $60 for the year.

Discussion about this podcast